Black College Football Hall of Fame names 25 finalists for Class of 2023

The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) today announced the 25 Finalists for induction into its Class of 2023. The list includes 21 players and four coaches.

“We congratulate the Class of 2023 Finalists and look forward to welcoming the next group of legends into the Black College Football Hall of Fame,” said James “Shack” Harris, chairman and co-founder. “Each Finalist represents the best of Black College Football.”

The Finalists were selected from a field of more than 200 nominees by an 11-member Selection Committee composed of prominent journalists, commentators, historians, former NFL general managers and football executives.

“A big thank you to the Selection Committee for their dedication and hard work in selecting this year’s finalist,” Committee Chairman Charlie Neal said. “The one common thread the committee found among this year’s Finalists is ‘football reveals character,’ and the character of this year’s Finalists is at the top of the list.”

Class of 2023 inductees will be announced Dec. 8, 2022. They will be recognized for the first time at the second annual HBCU Legacy Bowl in New Orleans on Feb. 25, 2023, and honored during the 14th annual Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Saturday, June 10, 2023, in Atlanta. For more information, please visit

  • Joe “747” Adams (QB, Tennessee State University, 1977-1980)
  • Antoine Bethea (DB, Howard University, 2002-05)
  • Verlon Biggs (DE, Jackson State University, 1962-65)
  • Dwaine Board (DE, North Carolina A&T State University, 1975-78)
  • Waymond Bryant (LB, Tennessee State University, 1970-73)
  • Vince Buck (DB, Central State University, 1986-89)
  • Kevin Dent (S, Jackson State University, 1985-88)
  • Leslie Frazier (DB, Alcorn State University, 1978-1980)
  • Mike Holmes (WR, Texas Southern University, 1970-73)
  • Richard Huntley (RB, Winston-Salem State University, 1992-95)
  • Henry Lawrence (OL, Florida A&M University, 1970-73)
  • Albert Lewis (DB, Grambling State University, 1979-1982)
  • Jim Marsalis (DB, Tennessee State University, 1962-65)
  • Rashean Mathis (DB, Bethune-Cookman University, 1999-2002)
  • Tyrone McGriff (OL, Florida A&M University, 1976-79)
  • Lemar Parrish (RB, Lincoln University MO, 1966-69)
  • Elijah Pitts (RB, Philander Smith College, 1958-1961)
  • Tyrone Poole (DB, Fort Valley State University, 1991-94)
  • Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie (DB, Tennessee State University, 2004-07)
  • Jay Walker (QB, Howard University 1991-94)
  • Johnnie Walton (QB, Elizabeth City State University, 1965-68)
  • Rudy Hubbard (Head Coach, Florida A&M University, 1974-1985)
  • Fred “Pop” Long (Head Coach, Wiley College, 1921-1965)
  • Doug Porter (Head Coach, Mississippi Valley State University, 1961-65; Howard University, 1974-1985; Fort Valley State University 1987-1996)
  • Pete Richardson (Head Coach, Winston-Salem State University, 1988-1992; Southern University, 1993-2009.)