'The Mission': Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee member Jarrett Bell joins the show

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced earlier this week on NFL Network the list of 28 Modern-Era Player Semifinalists for the Class of 2023.

To help break down the selection process and the players who reached the Semifinalist stage, joining "The Mission" is USA TODAY writer and the 2022 Bill Nunn Memorial Award winner Jarrett Bell.

Bell, the 54th Nunn Award honoree, is the first Black journalist to receive the honor from the PFWA. The Nunn Award is given to a reporter who has made a long and distinguished contribution to pro football through coverage. 

In addition to Bell’s place on the Hall of Fame’s Selection Committee, he is a member of the Coach/Contributor Committee that determines Finalists for election to the Hall in that category.

He also served on the Blue-Ribbon Panel that selected the NFL 100 All-Time Team and has earned multiple Dick Connor Writing Awards from the PFWA.

On the podcast, Bell explains the next steps in the Hall of Fame Selection Process, which comes when the Semifinalists are trimmed to 15 Modern-Era Player Finalists. 

That list increases to 19 Finalists with the inclusion of the recommended Nominees of the Hall of Fame’s Coach/Contributor Committee, Don Coryell; and Seniors Committee, Chuck Howley, Joe Klecko and Ken Riley.

Watch the full episode of "The Mission" here or below.