Cleveland Browns, New York Jets to open 2023 NFL Season in Hall of Fame Game

The Cleveland Browns will take on the New York Jets in the 2023 Hall of Fame Game at 8 p.m. ET Thursday, Aug. 3, during Enshrinement Week Powered by Johnson Controls.
The matchup, which kicks off the National Football League's 104th season in the city where the League was born, will take place in Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium — adjacent to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

It will be the Browns' sixth time playing in the Hall of Fame Game. Their most recent appearance in Canton came in 1999 — the first game the franchise played after resuming operations. The Jets have played twice in Canton but not since 1992.

Browns great JOE THOMAS, along with Jets legends JOE KLECKO and DARRELLE REVIS, will be enshrined two days later as members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2023. RONDÉ BARBER, DON CORYELL, CHUCK HOWLEY, KEN RILEY, ZACH THOMAS and DeMARCUS WARE also will be enshrined at the annual ceremony, which is set for Saturday, Aug. 5, inside Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium.
Tickets for the 2023 Hall of Fame Game go on sale to the public at 10 a.m. ET Wednesday, March 8. Fans can learn more about the matchup and purchase tickets at

The Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Week, a multi-day celebration of the enshrinement of the newest Hall of Fame Class, is held each year in Canton. 

The 2023 Enshrinement Week will include:
  • Aug. 3: Hall of Fame Game (Jets vs. Browns)
  • Aug. 4: Fashion Show
  • Aug. 4: Enshrinees’ Gold Jacket Dinner
  • Aug. 5: The Canton Repository Grand Parade
  • Aug. 5: Class of 2023 Enshrinement 
  • Aug. 5: Concert for Legends, featuring Zac Brown Band
  • Aug. 6: Enshrinees’ Roundtable

Tickets for several events are on sale now. For more information, visit

Hall of Fame Game results for Browns, Jets

Cleveland Browns (2-3)
  • 1963 – vs. Pittsburgh Steelers (L, 16-7)
  • 1967 – vs. Philadelphia Eagles (L, 28-13)
  • 1981 – vs. Atlanta Falcons (W, 24-10)
  • 1990 – vs. Chicago Bears (L, 13-0)
  • 1999 – vs. Dallas Cowboys (W, 20-17)

New York Jets (1-1)
  • 1977 – vs. Chicago Bears (L, 20-6)
  • 1992 – vs. Philadelphia Eagles (W, 41-14)