Al Michaels named winner of Rozelle Award

Al Michaels named winner of Rozelle Award

See All News
Al Michaels, one of the most noted sports broadcasters of all time, has been named the winner of the prestigious Pete Rozelle Radio & Television Award. The award, presented annually by the Pro Football Hall of Fame, recognizes “long-time exceptional contributions to radio and television in professional football.”

Michaels will receive the award on Friday, Aug. 2 during the annual Enshrinees’ Gold Jacket Dinner in Canton. That event is where the Hall of Fame Class of 2013 – Larry Allen, Cris Carter, Curley Culp, Jonathan Ogden, Bill Parcells, Dave Robinson, and Warren Sapp – will receive their gold Pro Football Hall of Fame jackets.

The Class of 2013 Enshrinement Ceremony takes place the following day at 7 p.m. EDT. On Sunday, Aug. 4, at 8:00 p.m. EDT on NBC, the Dallas Cowboys and Miami Dolphins will play in the annual NFL/Hall of Fame Game. Michaels, the longtime voice of NBC’s Sunday Night Football, will be in the booth that evening to call the play-by-play of the 2013 preseason opener.

Michaels enters his eighth season as the voice of Sunday Night Football preceded by 20 years as the play-by-play man of
Past recipients of the Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award
2012 - Len Dawson
2011 - Jim Nantz
2010 - Chris Berman
2009 - Irv Cross
2008 - Dan Dierdorf
2007 - Don Meredith
2006 - Lesley Visser
2005 - Myron Cope
2004 - Van Miller
2003 - Don Criqui
2002 - John Madden
2001 - Roone Arledge
2000 - Ray Scott
1999 - Dick Enberg
1998 - Val Pinchbeck
1997 - Charlie Jones
1996 - Jack Buck
1995 - Frank Gifford
1994 - Pat Summerall
1993 - Curt Gowdy
1992 - Chris Schenkel
1991 - Ed Sabol
1990 - Lindsey Nelson
1989 - Bill McPhail
Monday Night Football. He also called the action for eight Super Bowls including Super Bowl XLVI, the most watched program in U.S. television history and for which he received wide-spread acclaim.

Labeled by the Associated Press as “TV’s best play-by-play announcer,” Michaels is the winner of seven Emmy Awards. He is the only commentator to call the Super Bowl, World Series, NBA Finals and host a Stanley Cup Final for network television. Six of his Emmy Awards were for Outstanding Sports Personality – play-by-play and one was the Lifetime Achievement Award given to him in 2011.

Three times in his career Michaels received the NSSA Award from the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association and was inducted into the NSSA Hall of Fame in 1998. He was named Sportscaster of the Year in 1996 by the American Sportscasters Association and Washington Journalism Review in 1991.

He has covered numerous Olympic Games including serving as NBC’s daytime host for the 2012 London Olympic Games. Michaels received his first Sportscaster of the Year award in 1980, the year he made his memorable call, “Do you believe in miracles? Yes!” of the U.S. men’s hockey team’s dramatic upset victory over the USSR at the Lake Placid Winter Olympics.

He has also announced the 1984 Winter Games in Sarajevo, and Summer Games in Los Angeles; and the 1988 Calgary Winter Olympic Games.

Ticket information on the Enshrinement, NFL/Hall of Fame Game, and other 2013 Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Festival events can be found on Profootballhof.com. More on the Enshrinement Festival>>>
Back to news