If elected...special notes on 2010 finalists - by team

If elected...special notes on 2010 finalists - by team

See All News


The San Francisco 49ers has three finalists who spent a significant part of their careers with the team. The Dallas Cowboys, Denver Broncos, and Minnesota Vikings have two. The Buffalo Bills, Chicago Bears, Detroit Lions, Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders, New Orleans Saints, Pittsburgh Steelers, St. Louis/Arizona Cardinals, San Diego Chargers, Seattle Seahawks, and the Washington Redskins each have one finalist who spent all or a significant part of their careers with that team.

If elected …

Tim Brown would be the 14th Oakland/Los Angeles Raider elected to the Hall of Fame. He would join Marcus Allen, Fred Biletnikoff, George Blanda, Willie Brown, Dave Casper, Al Davis, Mike Haynes, Ted Hendricks, Howie Long, John Madden, Jim Otto, Art Shell, and Gene Upshaw.

Cris Carter and/or John Randle would be the 10th, and/or 11th Minnesota Vikings elected to the Hall of Fame. They would join Carl Eller, Jim Finks, Bud Grant, Paul Krause, Randall McDaniel, Alan Page, Fran Tarkenton, Ron Yary and Gary Zimmerman.

Don Coryell would be the 12th long-time member of the Arizona (Chicago, St. Louis) Cardinals franchise to be elected to the Hall of Fame. Other Cardinals to be elected include Charles Bidwill, Jimmy Conzelman, Dan Dierdorf, John “Paddy” Driscoll, Dick “Night Train” Lane, Ollie Matson, Ernie Nevers, Jackie Smith, Charley Trippi, Roger Wehrli, and Larry Wilson.

Don Coryell would also be the eighth San Diego Chargers Hall of Fame member. He would join seven previously elected San Diego Chargers Hall of Famers including Lance Alworth, Fred Dean, Dan Fouts, Sid Gillman, Charlie Joiner, Ron Mix, and Kellen Winslow.

Roger Craig, Charles Haley, and/or Jerry Rice would be the 13th, 14th and/or 15th members of the San Francisco 49ers elected to the Hall of Fame. They would join 12 other 49ers Hall of Fame members including Fred Dean, Jimmy Johnson, Ronnie Lott, Hugh McElhenny, Joe Montana, Leo Nomellini, Joe Perry, Bob St. Clair, Y.A. Tittle, Bill Walsh, Dave Wilcox, and Steve Young.

Dermontti Dawson would be the 19th longtime Pittsburgh Steelers elected to the Hall of Fame. Other Steelers Hall of Fame members include Mel Blount, Terry Bradshaw, Bill Dudley, Joe Greene, Jack Ham, Franco Harris, John Henry Johnson, Walt Kiesling, Jack Lambert, Bobby Layne, Chuck Noll, Art Rooney, Dan Rooney, John Stallworth, Ernie Stautner, Lynn Swann, Mike Webster, and Rod Woodson.
Is a New Hall of Fame Member
Enshrined as a Member of a Team?
Obviously, teams take great pride in the accomplishments of individuals who have been a part of their organization. Often individual teams and even the Hall of Fame will list enshrinees according to the team or teams on which they spent a significant period of time. An enshrinee, however, is not asked to “declare,” nor does the Hall of Fame “choose” a team under which a new member is enshrined. When elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, an individual is recognized for his accomplishments as a player, coach, or contributor.

Richard Dent
would be the 27th longtime Chicago Bear to be added to the Hall of Fame honor roll. Doug Atkins, George Blanda, Dick Butkus, George Connor, Mike Ditka, John “Paddy” Driscoll, Jim Finks, Dan Fortmann, Bill George, Harold “Red” Grange, George Halas, Dan Hampton, Ed Healey, Bill Hewitt, Stan Jones, Sid Luckman, Link Lyman, George McAfee, George Musso, Bronko Nagurski, Walter Payton, Gale Sayers, Mike Singletary, Joe Stydahar, George Trafton, and Clyde “Bulldog” Turner are the others.

Russ Grimm
would be the 18th Washington Redskins Hall of Fame member. He would join George Allen, Cliff Battles, Sammy Baugh, Bill Dudley, Albert Glen “Turk” Edwards, Ray Flaherty, Joe Gibbs, Darrell Green, Ken Houston, Sam Huff, Sonny Jurgensen, George Preston Marshall, Wayne Millner, Bobby Mitchell, Art Monk, John Riggins, and Charley Taylor.

Charles Haley and/or Emmitt Smith would be the 12th and/or 13th Dallas Cowboys Hall of Fame members. Troy Aikman, Tony Dorsett, Bob Hayes, Michael Irvin, Tom Landry, Bob Lilly, Mel Renfro, Tex Schramm, Roger Staubach, Randy White, and Rayfield Wright are the current Cowboys Hall of Fame members.

Rickey Jackson would join Jim Finks as only the second longtime member of the New Orleans Saints elected to the Hall of Fame. If elected he would be the first player to have played a significant part of his career with the team.

Cortez Kennedy would join Steve Largent as the second longtime Seattle Seahawk elected to the Hall of Fame.

Dick LeBeau would be the 14th Detroit Lions Hall of Fame member. Other Lions Hall of Famers includes Lem Barney, Jack Christiansen, Dutch Clark, Lou Creekmur, Bill Dudley, Dick “Night Train” Lane, Yale Lary, Bobby Layne, Barry Sanders, Charlie Sanders, Joe Schmidt, Doak Walker, and Alex Wojciechowicz.

Floyd Little and/or Shannon Sharpe would join John Elway and Gary Zimmerman as the third and/or fourth members of the Denver Broncos elected to the Hall of Fame.

Andre Reed would be the ninth Buffalo Bills Hall of Fame member. He would join Joe DeLamielleure, Jim Kelly, Marv Levy, Billy Shaw, O.J. Simpson, Bruce Smith, Thurman Thomas, and Ralph Wilson, Jr.

 If Elected...Special Notes on 2009 Finalists: Position roster will change after 2010 election

 Finalists, All-time
Selection Process
Class of 2010Senior nominees | Preliminary nominees | Semifinalists
Capsule bios for the Class of 2010 finalists
2010 Enshrinement Festival (Ticket info, fan & travel packages, schedule of events, more)
VOICE YOUR CHOICE – visit Fanschoice.com and register your vote for the Class of ’10

Back to news