Arizona Cardinals

Team History

1920-1943, 1945-1959 Chicago Cardinals, 1944 Card-Pitt, 1960-1987 St. Louis Cardinals, 1988-1993 Phoenix Cardinals, 1994-present Arizona Cardinals

The Cardinals, the oldest professional football team in terms of continuous operation, were founded as the Morgan Athletic Club in 1898. Nicknamed after the Cardinal red jerseys they donned in the early years, the team operated in Chicago through 1959, in St. Louis from 1960 to 1987, moved to Arizona following the 1987 season.

Team Greats

The Cardinals franchise has 23 Pro Football Hall of Famers and 19 members in their Ring of Honor. 

There are 12 members in both the Hall of Fame and the Cardinals Ring of Honor. 

First Season


NFL Championships

1925, 1947

All-Time Record

(At start of 2023 season) 581-790-41

NFC Championships