Modern-Era nominees for the Class of 2010

Enshrinement Published on : 9/19/2009

The National Football League’s all-time leading receiver Jerry Rice and all-time leading rusher Emmitt Smith are among the list of 131 players, coaches and contributors who make up the preliminary list of modern-era nominees for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2010. Rice and Smith are two of the seven first-year eligible candidates on this year’s list of nominees.

Join the debate

The Pro Football Hall of Fame is proud to partner with JC Penney/Van Heusen in all new “Voice Your Choice” Campaign. What’s your opinion of The Hall of Fame and Class of 2010 nominations. Share now>>>

You can also get the discussion going at

Get the latest from the Hall by signing up for our free E-newsletter | Follow us at

From this preliminary list of modern-era nominees, Hall of Fame selectors will choose 25 candidates who will advance as semifinalist nominees. The list of 25 modern-era semifinalists will be announced on November 27.

The 25 modern-era semifinalists list will be reduced by a mail ballot to 15 modern-era finalists that will be announced on January 7.

{GALLERY}The final list of nominees that will be considered for election will consist of the 15 modern-era finalists and the two previously announced senior nominees, former Detroit Lions cornerback Dick LeBeau and former Denver Broncos running back Floyd Little. LeBeau and Little were selected this past August by the Hall of Fame’s Senior Selection Committee.

The Class of 2010 will be selected from the list of 17 finalists (15 modern-era and two senior nominees). The actual voting will be conducted at the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee’s annual meeting, which will be held on Saturday, February 6, 2010 in South Florida the day before Super Bowl XLIV. The election results will be announced immediately afterwards. While there is no set number for any class of enshrinees, the selection process by-laws provide that between four and seven new members will be selected.

The preliminary list includes 103 players, 10 coaches and 18 contributors, including former NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue and longtime team owners Bud Adams, and Art Modell. The other first-year eligible nominees are kicker Gary Anderson, wide receiver Tim Brown, quarterback Rich Gannon, running back Eddie George, and cornerback/safety Aeneas Williams.

To be considered for Hall of Fame election, a nominated player or coach must have been retired at least five years. A contributor, who is an individual who has made outstanding career contributions to pro football in capacities other than playing or coaching, may still be active in his pro football career. 

2010 Preliminary Nominees

| By Position

More from
Selection Process
LeBeau, Little named 2010 senior nominees
Win at trip to the Super Bowl that includes a seat at the Class of 2010 election press conference