Inaugural HOF Class of 1963

On January 29, 1963, the inaugural class of enshrinees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame were announced, which consisted of 17 players and executives that helped make professional football a reality.

The first class of enshrinees included 11 former players (Red Grange, Don Hutson, Dutch Clark, Bronko Nagurski, Mel Hein, Pete Henry, Cal Hubbard, Sammy Baugh, Johnny McNally, Ernie Nevers and Jim Thorpe), 1 founder/owner/coach (George Halas), and 5 owners/executives (Curly Lambeau, Bert Bell, Joe Carr, Tim Mara and George Marshall).


Click Image to view the headlines from the Green Bay Press Gazette (1/29/1963)