Crown thy rusher!

Crown thy rusher!

See All News
DeMarco Murray holds a healthy lead for the NFL’s 2014 rushing crown. With three games remaining on the schedule, he has 375 yards more than his closest competitor, the Pittsburgh Steelers Le'Veon Bell.

Murray would become just the second Dallas Cowboys runner to win a NFL rushing title. Gold Jacket Emmitt Smith is the only Dallas player to lead the league in rushing, a feat he accomplished four times.

1995 … 377 carries for 1,773 yards, 25 TD
1993 … 283 carries for 1,486 yards, and 9 TDs
1992 … 373 carries for 1,713 yards and 18 TDs
1991 … 365 for 1,563 yards and 12 TDs

Smith is just one of six running backs with FOUR OR MORE NFL RUSHING TITLES. Not surprisingly, all have earned election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The legendary Browns runner won the league title every year of his career but one.
Van Buren was the NFL’s first player to rush for 1,000 yards twice.
The Bills runner became the NFL’s first 2,000-yard rusher in 1973.
Dickerson’s 2,105 yards in 1984 still stands as the NFL’s single-season mark.
Sanders is the only runner ever to rush for a 100 yards 14 times in the same season (1997).


2,000-Yard Runners
Barry Sanders Running Wild
Dickerson Finds Daylight
Van Buren Fueld the Eagles
Fewest Games to Reach 2,500 Career Rushing Yards
Brown - Exclamation Point on Career!
Back to news