Team History

1930-33 Portsmouth Spartans, 1934-present Detroit Lions

After three seasons in a small river town in Ohio, the Portsmouth Spartans relocated to Detroit in 1934 and became the Lions.  Beginning that first season in the "Motor City" the team hosted a game on Thanksgiving, a tradition that has become synonymous with Detroit.  The Lions' long history has been filled with dynamic personalities including 14 members of the franchise who were elected to the Hall of Fame.

Team Greats

The Detroit franchise has 22 Pro Football Hall of Famers and 20 members in the Pride of the Lions. 

There are 15 members in both the Hall of Fame and the Pride of the Lions. 

NFL Championships

1935, 1952, 1953, 1957

NFC Central Division Championships

1983, 1991, 1993

All-Time Record

(At start of 2023 season) 579-702-34