Pittsburgh Steelers

Team History

1933-1939 Pittsburgh Pirates, 1940-present Pittsburgh Steelers, 1943 Phil-Pitt, 1944 Card-Pitt

First known as the Pirates, the team changed its nickname to Steelers in 1940. The franchise struggled for its first 40 years but made up for those tribulations in the 1970s. In one of the most famous streaks in all of sports, the Steelers dominated the NFL during that decade. Pittsburgh advanced to the playoffs eight straight seasons and won four Super Bowl championships in a six-year span. The team added a record-tying fifth Super Bowl crown in the 2005 season and then in the 2008 season became the first team ever to win six Super Bowls.

Team Greats

The Pittsburgh franchise has 32 Pro Football Hall of Famers and 49 members in their Hall of Honor. 

There are 27 players and coaches in both the Hall of Fame and the Steelers Hall of Honor. 


Super Bowl Championships

1974 (IX), 1975 (X), 1978 (XIII), 1979 (XIV), 2005 (XL), 2008 (XLIII)

AFC Championships

1974, 1975, 1978, 1979, 1995, 2005, 2008, 2010

All-Time Record

(At start of 2023 season) 661-571-22